It is with passion that the Lugan family has been practicing their careers from generation to generation for almost a century and a half.
The commune of Tavel, in the Gard, historically known for its rosé wine, is a magical place where the soil and the under ground harmonize fully to give body to unique materials.
The origin of stone mining dates back to the Roman era, as evidenced by a Roman tower on the neighboring town of Saint Laurent des Arbres and a medieval tower. The Romans also used Tavel stone in the city of Orange.
The golden age of the exploitation of Tavel stone was from 1800 to 1900 with the operation of 11 quarries for use in railway works. The current quarry is the union of two sites and the only one in activity on the commune.
As evidenced by the medieval castle of the 10th century dominating the town of Lussan, the use of Lussan Verfeuil stone went through history taking its origins in the Bronze Age. Thus the Menhir de la Lèque, also known as La Pierre Plantée, is 5,60m high in the hamlet of the same name, in the commune of Lussan. Placed as historical monuments since 1910, it appears as a symbol of the rich history of Lussan Verfeuil stone.